Friends

I’ve been starting to realize more and more lately that some of those people that I considered to be friends, may not be.  It’s unfortunate, and not something that I like to think about lightly.  It just seems that in the last few weeks, people I considered to be friends seem to have dropped off the face of the planet.  It’s not that I hold hard feelings against these people, they have lives and I understand that.  But the sense I’m receiving is that they are blatantly ignoring me, which to me is a problem.  Granted, it does hurt my feelings, but the main thing for me is that I wouldn’t ever ignore a friend of mine, so why do I deserve that?  Just something I’ve been considering lately and maybe it’s time I start weeding people out.  I hate to cut anyone out of my life because I value all the people in it, but in the end, is it worth the continued bad treatment?

On a lighter note besides what’s written above, things have been going really well.  My car runs well, my cats are happy, I’m working quite a bit now that I’m on my own, and I’ve reconnected with some people that I haven’t spoken to in years.  Some I haven’t spoken to in over 10 years.  It’s really nice being able to see where people have gone since the last time I saw them, and it’s nice to see how they’ve grown.  Every so often, I feel like the daily drudgery of my day gets the best of me and I feel like I’m stuck in a rut, and then I remember.  I remember that I’m an intelligent, young, attractive female who only has great things ahead of her.  I’m working hard and moving forward, even if it doesn’t always feel like it.  Most other days, I see the world anew.  I’m not stuck in the rut of a bad relationship anymore, and that in and of itself makes me happy.  To think about the fact that I was willing to sign my life away to someone that not only didn’t deserve it, but someone that would never appreciate it, still surprises me.  The saying ‘love is blind’ really is true, but the problem is, I don’t think I really did love him.  I miss the friendship of someone that doesn’t exist, and besides that, I don’t miss anything.  It’s nice being able to talk to who I want, when I want, and not have to come home to stress day in and day out anymore.  As corny as it may sound my outlook on my future at this particular moment is very much like that of Forrest Gump- ‘life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get’. 🙂

Leave a Reply

