Go To The Mattresses

I know this might sound corny, but a quote from “You’ve Got Mail” has really resonated with me lately, and it’s something that I intend to use in my everyday life.  I guess it originally came from “The Godfather” and the quote is this-

Go to the mattresses.

I’m constantly reminding myself throughout the day, just go to the mattresses.  It’s not personal, it’s business.  I’m certainly not starting a gang or family war, but sometimes I need to not take things personally….I need to go to the mattresses.

This is definitely a quote that’s helped me with my last relationship ending.  I went through a period of wondering what I could have done differently to make the relationship work but eventually I had to realize that it wasn’t me.  The ending of that relationship had nothing to do with me.  I’ve constantly heard those sayings about how it takes two to tango and thus it takes two to bring a relationship to an end, but that’s not always the case.  I had to learn the hard way that I had nothing to do with the end of my relationship, and in realizing that, I was free.  I couldn’t stop him from cheating, I didn’t hold a gun to his head to make him do what he did, and I believed him when he told me that he loved me and was happy.  It was all lies, and they were his choice.  So I’m not taking it personally….he was the one screwed up, not me.  I have gone to the mattresses and in doing so, set myself free.free

Leave a Reply

