Right Around the Corner…

The title of this post has so many different meanings to it.  2015 is just around the corner and I honestly couldn’t be more excited to see what it will bring for me.  A lot has changed for me in the past few months but as of right now, this moment, I couldn’t be happier.  I really thought 2014 was going to be a shitty year for me, with good reason.  I’m sure many of you would agree with me on that one.  In the end though, it has ended up being the best one.

I look back on this year and can say it is by far the best one for many different reasons.  Reason numero uno is the fact that I got rid of the dead weight in my life.  I haven’t been happy for a very long time, not truly.  If I was to be honest, I don’t know if I ever really have been.  I’m known for looking for people with something that I can fix, and constantly settling.  For the first time in my life, I’m not doing that.

The second major reason why I can say it has been a great year is my family and friends.  I have an amazing family, who have gone above and beyond for me this year and who I can’t thank enough for all their love and support.  It has truly been a revelation to me this year just how many family members, no matter how distant, were there to pick me up and brush me off.  My friends have also been truly awesome.  They have listened to me whine and complain and never had anything bad to say.  It really will be something I always remember.

The third reason is the person I have just met.  It’s crazy for me to think that we go to the same school, work for the same company, and even have some mutual friends, and yet we have never crossed paths before now.  I have spent the last few days with him, and have been wondering to myself where he’s been all my life.  There’s nothing about him that needs fixing.  He’s perfect just the way he is.  And above all, he sees me for who I am and accepts it.  He isn’t a knight in shining armor swooping in to save the day, just a plain guy working towards his future who just so happens to want the same things that I do.  All in all, he’s amazing.  I’m more comfortable with him than I have been with anyone I’ve dated and I was comfortable right off the bat, which never happens.  He makes me feel relaxed and taken care of.  He listens to me and what I have to say and then makes a mental note of them, which to me is a rarity I have never seen before.  As strange as it may sound, the first night I met him I said to one of my girlfriends “I think I just met my future husband.”  I know that it’s cliche and I’m not practicing my signature or anything just yet, but there’s just this gut feeling I have.  I don’t want to run away screaming.  I feel happy when I’m with him and perfectly content when I’m home by myself.  I already miss him when he’s not around but I ENJOY missing him.  I look forward to the time I will see him next.  It’s a sense that he’s always been just around the corner from me and yet, it’s only now I’ve turned the corner.

The best part for me is that I feel almost like he was a Christmas present for me this year.  I dread spending holidays without anyone, as I’m sure most of us do.  I had an amazing time with family this year though, my aunt went above and beyond for my Christmas day and I was already in a great mood and to top it all off, I started talking to Mike.  Our personalities clicked, and then when I met him in person sparks just seemed to fly.  They’ve been flying ever since.  In the back of my mind, I keep telling myself that it’s too good to be true…I somehow won the boyfriend lottery.  I found the qualities I’ve wanted in someone and just didn’t know how to express until my last relationship ended.  Things that weren’t going to be negotiable in my next partner, and here comes Mike, who possesses all of them.  No matter what happens, I know he’s someone I will want in my life, for the rest of my life, whether it be dating or just as friends.  He’s an amazing person and someone I can see myself loving very easily.

So as 2014 comes to an end, I am thankful, content, and full of happiness.  I have a constant smile on my face and a calm in my heart like I’ve never had before.  2014 has been a great year for me, and I honestly can’t wait to see what 2015 has in store for me 🙂

peace

Leave a Reply

