A Week of Sick

For the past week, I have been sick.  That fabulous sick of a snotty nose, hacking, drained of energy…wonderful sick.  Now most often when people get sick the words ‘fabulous’ and ‘wonderful’ are not used in the same sentence and certainly not to describe how they feel.  The reason I have used these words is because of the things that Mike did for me while I was sick.  He was incredible.  As simple as it may seem, he really stepped up while I was sick this last week and I can’t thank him enough.

I couldn’t help but laugh because he asked me the first day I was getting sick if I wanted soup, and what kind of soup I wanted.  I told him chicken noodle, and while I was sitting there thinking he was going to get Campbell’s and heat it up for me, he woke me up to hand me a bowl of HOMEMADE chicken noodle soup.  And I just learned yesterday that he’d never made homemade soup before then.  He also bought me ice cream to help soothe my throat and got my juice and anything else I needed so I could sleep in bed and not have to get up.  He was amazing and really proved to me that of anyone I’ve dated, he will always go above and beyond because as he puts it ‘it’s what he’s supposed to do.’  He’s the first person to not make me feel guilty about doing things for me because I’m sick.  I can see that these are things he wants to do for me, to let me know I’m taken care of, and I can’t lie and say I didn’t enjoy it.  I loved every minute of it.  So as much as being sick sucked, it was wonderful at the same time.

I have now spent all day craving Mike’s chicken noodle soup but will unfortunately have to settle for a can of Progresso’s to hold me over…

Leave a Reply

