Shampoo. Rinse. Repeat.

“When you repeat yourself so many times, even if you’re speaking the truth, the repetition starts to feel false. Sometimes, you just feel like the words you’re speaking, even if they once had meaning, have lost it. And that makes you feel kind of silly.”

I’m gonna go on a bit of a rant here, so please bear with me.  One thing that I’ve noticed in recent days is people’s love of recycling things they’ve said in a relationship with someone new.  For the love of God, WHY?!  Is it too hard for people to come up with something original so they just reuse the old stuff?  No offense, but it takes away any and all meaning to what you are saying.  As nice as it may be to get a ‘Good morning beautiful’ when I wake up, if I know you’ve sent it to someone you’ve dated and then to me, it does not endear you to me.  On the other front, if I were to find out that a phrase which had been a big part of my relationship with someone was then used on someone else, not only would it prove that you never really meant the words to begin with, but you don’t mean them any more now.

I want someone who can be original with me so that I don’t feel like the second bit version of your previous relationship.  And I’m glad to see how unoriginal my past relationships have been and that they aren’t a part of my life anymore.  I will just never understand why people can’t seem to be original in how they treat someone new.  Everyone is different and thus, everyone should be treated differently.  Just sayin’.holding hands

Leave a Reply

