NaBloPoMo

So a friend of mine posted today that she had signed up for NaBloPoMo, a variation of NaNoWriMo.  While I have never participated in NaNoWriMo, my cousin and several friends do it every year, and since I have a blog, I figured I would take the time this year to participate.  We shall see how well this goes as I’m working part time, going to school full time, have homework up the wazoo and no social life to speak of.  I thought it might make my posting on my blog a bit more regular rather than the sporadic writing I do now and hopefully I will have something to talk about.

Besides NaBloPoMo, I have recently taken a trip to Delaware.  My best friend lives there and I needed some time away to clear my head.  I’ve been extremely busy and stressed out this semester and it was all beginning to get a bit overwhelming.  Not that it stopped being overwhelming, but a weekend away with my favorite person gave me a moment to take a quick breath.  Over the past few months I’ve spent a lot of time just pushing things on the back burner or pretending like it wasn’t affecting me, and she’s the one person who has the ability to get me to process the things that are bothering me.  She makes my problems seem easier to manage, and always has the ability to take the heavy burden off my shoulders.  I don’t know how she does it because it’s not like I show up and she tells me ‘ok, the therapist is in the house’, there’s just an ease about her that helps me relax and begin to process.  Plus, she’s one of the most honest people I know and will tell it to me like it is albeit it gently and with love.

The trip was by far a success for me.  I had a wonderful time with her and her family, got to see a bunch of stuff and bought souvenirs that I’m sure will eventually get lost or misplaced.  My memories of the trip will never fade though.  It was, by far, one of the best times of my life that I will forever cherish.  I thank the powers that be all the time that I went back to school in Hawaii and that she was placed in my path because for those that know me, I have a very hard time trusting people, and have a very small circle of friends, with only one best friend.  She is someone that I miss on a constant basis, someone I wish lived closer to me so I could see her more often, and someone I hope to someday race my wheelchair against as we slip into senility.  All in all, she’s probably my favorite person on this planet that I’m not related to but who is definitely a member of my family.

Leave a Reply

