The End of an Era?

So it hit me today while driving to class that it’s already November…meaning the semester ends in about 6 weeks and if all goes well (cross your fingers), I finally graduate with my bachelor’s degree. I know, I know, it’s about time right? I’ve only been in college for the last decade. But thinking about the idea of graduating does scare me a little. I know what it’s like to be a student, I’m used to being a student, and this is a huge change for me. I’ll finally be able to get a big girl job and work in a job that I WANT to work in, and not just one that won’t pay my bills.

I’ve wanted to be a forensic scientist since middle school when my dad made the horrible mistake of letting me watch CSI. I have the weird books and morbid fascination that will allow me to not only stomach the job but enjoy it, plus the lack of sense of smell comes in handy.  I’m excited to think of the options I might have in front of me and where this might take me. I’m currently looking at sending my CV (curriculum vitae for those of you who aren’t in the science fields) to the medical examiner in Philadelphia even though they aren’t currently hiring for my dream job. Now keep in mind while being a forensic investigator is a dream job for me I have by no means given up my eventual goal of getting my Ph.D and working for the DPAA, or JPAC as they used to be called. But one step at a time. And who knows, if for whatever reason I do happen to fall into a job for the M.E. in Philadelphia, I may discover that I love it and decide to settle in for the long haul. I do know that I’m at a point in my life that I want to live closer to my best friend while still being somewhat close to my family.

Who knows what the future holds for me but as of right now the realization that I could soon be a college graduate is something that is finally sinking in. I’m almost done and I’m trying everything in my power to make sure it happens for me next month. After all the time and money I’ve spent on this degree I may just have to get the thing mounted…

Leave a Reply

